What is fast user switching and what are its limitations?

Fast user switching allows you to switch between user accounts while other user accounts are still open.

In Mac OS X 10.3, FUS was enablable. It it enabled in System Prefernces -> Accounts. To switch, you select the users name from the menu in the upper right-hand corner (the User menu).

Note that there are peripherals and applications which do not work if you use Fast User switching– usually, they will not allow a second user to use the application if another user is already using it. Also, only one person can use Classic at a time on the computer.

Some Apple applications incompatiable with Fast User switching include (see KB #25619)

Final Cut Pro
Final Cut Express
DVD Studio Pro
LiveType
Cinema Tools
Compressor
Shake
Soundtrack
Logic Audio
iDVD
iTunes
Backup (.Mac)

iMovie can’t control an attached camera if the camera is already in use by iMovie or another application in a different user account.

Also, Palm/HotSync typically cannot operate if being used by another user.

What options are you given when you try to delete a user account?

The system prompts you asking if you want to archvie the contents of the users home folder in a disk image (.dmg) file. This disk image gets put into /Users/Delete Users/

If you click OK, this is what the computer does. If you click Delete Immediately, then the user and all contents in that users folder are deleted immeidately without creating an archive.

What are the things you can do in System Preferences -> Accounts?

Password – enter the users full name and short name; enter password and optional password hint.

Although it is possible to create a user without a password, doing so is discouraged for security reasons.

The short name can be up to 255 Roman characters, however, if the short name is longer than 32 characters then a folder will be created with a name longer than 32 characters which may cause some saving errors in Classic applications as well as some Mac OS X applications.

Picture – Select a log in picture, used as default for Address Book and iChat as well.

Security – used to enable FileVault and set the master password on the computer

Limitations – When logged in as an administrator user, the limitations pane will allow you to limit other users access. – remove items from dock, open all system prefs, change a password, burn as CD or DVD, also restrict by Application

You can set a user to be in Simple Finder – displays only folders the user has access to in the dock and does not allow users to save anything to the desktop.

Note: If you give a user access to a specific Word document, but you do not give the user access to the Word Application, that user will still be able to open Word by double-clicking on the file itself.

Startup Items – if you are modifying your own account, you can specify which items to startup automatically when you log-in.

UNDER 10.3: Lets say you are logged in as an Administrator and you go to System Preferences -> Accounts to edit other users accounts. Which 5 tabs might you see in this window while making these changes, and why are only 3 or 4 of them displayed at a time?

Answer: Password, Picture, Security, Startup Items, Limitations

Startup items is only available when you are configuring your own account, and Limitations is only available when youre editing other accounts.

What are the three kinds of OS X accounts?

Normal user – can edit their own settings only, desktop pic. cannot make system-wide changes

Admin user – can make system-wide changes such as Network, Date & Time, Sharing, Energy Saver, Startup Disk. Can use NetInfo Manager and Directory Setup

System administrator- by default, this account is disabled for log-in (it can be enabled in Netinfo Manager), also called superuser or root user.

What are the quick-fixes to consider when troubleshooting an installation problem?

– check installation log
– confim that the firmware is up to date
– restart/reinstall
– check for disk problems
– disconnect non-essential hardware
– turn off Energy Saver and screen saver preferences

What are five things you should do before upgrading pre-OS X to Mac OS X?

– make a backup
– upgrade pre-OS X system to OS 9.2
– read “before you install” document
– collect network configuration
– decide on installation method

Is it possible to install an older version of Mac OS X in place of a newer operating system ?

No, not with the installer as it is built.

However, if you delete the files (or move them to a backup folder) inside of /Library/Receipts , the installer will then let you install an older version of Mac OS X in place of 10.3

How do you see any installation errors once the installation is complete?

open Consol (/Applications/Utilities)

choose View -> Show Log List

click disclosure triangle next to /var/log

select install.log