If you are an OS X administrator and are configuring your /Network, where is this done and what does this affect for users logging in?

This is for user accounts which are being managed such that when the user logs in they see a custom list of options under the /Network list (network browsing) in Mac OS X.

This is done in WGM, go to the Network icon or choose Network Admin from the view menu.

This also allows you to display services that may not advertise themselves automatically, like a web service.

There are three ways to configure a Network view for clients:

Named view – is for those specific computers listed in WGM

Default view – is what is seen by users who are bound to the directory (for example, a DHCP client) but do not have specific managed preferences

Public view – is seen by clients who connect to the network but are not bound in any way to the directory service

Leave a Reply

OR LOG IN WITH




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *